Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Red Dot experience

Lundy

OK, I have limited actual experience with a Red Dot. My experience is from many years ago with a Tasco Red Dot, made in Japan, one of the better ones from what I have read. I still have it from when I mounted it for my father to use in his later years.

The one I have is red only and has a 5MOA dot, 11 brightness settings and 4 dot size settings, seems OK. Except when you are color blind like me and can not see the red dot during mid day light at all:)

My real question revolves around the newer red dots with red and green and the dot MOA size.

My DIL is hunting with me during the gun season again this year. I purchased a used a H&R Slugster, heavy barrel, in 20 ga that has a cheapy Bushnell 3x9 on it for her to use. She is a tiny little lady and has trouble shouldering the gun and getting her head positioned for the proper eye relief. This gun has a synthetic stock so I can't shorten it for her.

I thought about putting a red dot on this gun to eliminate any concerns about eye relief. I don't want any bad shots, for her and the deer.

How well can you group with a 3-5 MOA dot at 100 yds? (most of my shot setups (blinds) are at at least 100 yds where I hunt)
Anyone have any experience with the green dot versus the red?
Vortex states parallax free after 50 yds, anyone tried this? Can you really not have the dot centered and not change impact point?

I am a scope guy, but for her I think the red dot makes sense.

Thanks

MK111

"Happy Hunting Grounds in the Sky"
Supporting Member
SW Ohio
Never had the same problem you are asking a answer for. I've used a Weaver red dot on my 44 mag. pistols since 2000 and changed all my hunting and target shooting pistols over to red dots. So yes I like them.
From past experience I would say a good gun will put the shot within the diameter of the red dot at 100 yds.