Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

The reason we do it.

countryhunter50

As most of you know I love to waterfowl hunt. I got into the sport from my father when I was around 6 or 7. Back then it was never about the number of kills or the number of birds we saw. Never about driving for 2 days to make sure we killed the almighty limit. It seems these days that everyone and I'm not talking about anyone from this site wants to make it big in the hunting industry. I am really happy that during the middle of last season I decided to do away with the large hunting groups and stick to a small core group and try to have fun quality hunts. I just was wondering if anyone else feels like the sport today has gone down hill from 15 years ago?

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
I have no long term experience, but I'd still like to offer some perspective from my seat on this ride.

Hunting mature whitetails with a bow was my first passion in the outdoors. I had grandiose plans of being a redneck Drury brother and did some time "in the industry", so I know what that rat race is like. As far as I'm concerned, the industry can suck it. From what little I know of the waterfowl industry, it might be as bad or worse than the deer hunting side. Now that I have that perspective, I will never make the mistake of chasing that "dream" with my waterfowl hunting.