Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

What slugs do you use?

TwistedX

My wife just bought me a savage 220 scope and gun combo that comes with the hornady sst in 3" has anyone had any experience with these? In the past I always shot the Remington accutips out of my 12 and had great success. That's why I have no experience with the hornadys. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated thanks!!
PS she does have a sister but she's already married. Sorry

loose_is_fast

McClure
I always shoot hornady sst but in 2 3/4 never heard of the 3. and yes sst are awesome for being dead on I mean I clover leaf at 60 yards no problem out of my browning gold deer hunter.

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina
Have the same gun and experimented a lot last year with ALL the different sabots and the best out of that combo was the Remington Accutips in 2 3/4" tightest grouping out too 100 yards....

yotehunter

spencerville oh
I'm shooting the 2 3/4s and the are accurate as hell out of my 870. They do mushroom and fragment well especially when put on the paddle bone. I don't shoot anything else and they are resonable too buy usually around 10 to 11 bucks a box.

TwistedX

Thanks everyone! I've been looking around haven't seen the 3" online anywhere that's what her brother said it came with.

motorbreaker

*Supporting Member I*
North of Toledo
Didn't have much luck with the sst on my sons HnR 20ga. single shot. Tried the new federal trophy copper 3" shells and had a 1" group a 100yds on a bench. These slugs are good out to 200 yards, If you would try a shot that far.

Schu72

Streetsboro
Been shooting Winchester Partition Gold for years. They are getting harder and harder to find and are almost $17 per box. May be looking for something new in the near future.

"J"

Git Off My Lawn
Supporting Member
North Carolina