Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Public Land Etiquette

gvsu141

Curious to everyones thoughts on public land, and using a climber vs. hang-on.

Backstory to uses as an example/set context:
I have been hunting the same piece of public land for several years, and go back to the same spot every year to bowhunt. It is not far from my home and I will go out multiple times of week. I always carry in only my climber, don't disturb the land, and take everything out with me as to not leave a trace - not even trail markers.
This year I go to my spot where I have 2 stand locations picked out so I can adjust based on the wind, etc. However, within 10 yards of BOTH of the spots someone has put up the works: hung stands, scent drippers, mocked scrapes, etc. There are using everything from orange tape to old pop bottles to mark the trail in and out. They even went as far as cutting down a 9"-10" tree to make way for a lane.

Now I know that this is part of hunting public land - you run into similar situations all the time. I am not complaining much as to the fact that this happens as this is a part of hunting. I am however, curious as to how everyone hunts situations like this. Would you still hunt your same tree, even though it is pretty much on top of the other guy? I get to the stand pretty early, so there is a good chance no other vehicles will be parked on my way out to the stand. I have another spot I found, just not as much to my liking.

cotty16

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
I run into this at the club I belong to. I've lost a few spots that I hunted for years. Same scenario... new stand, etc...
I just moved on to another spot and check back annually to see if they've vacated. It's a battle you can't win in my opinion and you just have to hope they move on sometime this year or next.

Unless you wanna hunt on top of him, but that's your call.

RedCloud

Super Moderator
Super Mod