Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Sighting in my muzzy this week. Suggestions?

Fluteman

Supporting Member
Southeast Ohio
Well, I have pissed around and waited until the last minute (like I always do) to get my muzzy sighted in. To be completely honest, I bought the thing back in April, and I'm embarrassed to say I haven't even shot it yet. Anyway, to get to the point, I'm shooting a TC Encore, and I went with a 250gr Hornaday Sabot, and I've got both 50gr and 60 gr Triple 7 Pellets. Going to get it dialed in with 100gr of pellets and then shoot it with 120gr and see which groups better. I plan on zeroing it in at 100y, then shooting at 50 and 150, and if I have time, maybe at 200 just to see.

This is my first muzzleloader. I've killed deer with my dad's Hawkins, but the gun was already sighted in, so I'm new to the whole process. Do you guys swab your barrel after every shot? If so, are you just running a dry patch through, or are you putting a little solution on as well? I will gladly accept any tips and pointers from you muzzy guys.

brock ratcliff

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
I'm no expert, but I think you have a good plan. With the lighter bullet, I'd guess you will have better groups with the 100gr load. I swab my barrel with a wet patch (sometimes just spit) and then a dry. I don't do it between every shot, but often enough to keep the gun relatively easy to load. Sabots foul the barrel pretty darn quick, so you'll need to swab it pretty often. This is one reason I am a fan of powerbelts. Yeah, it's a shortcut, but I don't shoot high powder loads (90 grain, lose) most usually, and I've been overly happy with the results I've gotten with powerbelts.

brock ratcliff

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member