Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Gutting knife

Huckleberry Finn

I have an 'unzipper' to open the deer up, but what knife do you use for the rest of the gutting job?

I've found that I like a small knife that I can control, even though that leads to a messier job. However, I haven't seen my little Buck folder that I've been using for about 6 months.

I'm thinking about getting the classic Buck 110.

Thoughts?

Hoytmania

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Gods Country
Mine came with a nice leather pouch. It always goes in the pouch and then into the pack. When it's not season it isn't being used.

LOL

I made the switch a few years back

To a Utility knife

Yep
A 1" blade

No I don't cut the ribs , I just reach up and cut the wind Pipe

Always sharp

I used to use a Gerber knife about the size of a 110
Worked well
But IMO to large

If you go with a Buck 110
Try and get a USA made one
As there are 110's made in China

Not the same quality

John

The 110 is a good knife but I don't like the blade shape as much. In my experience a 3-4 inch drop point fixed blade does the best job.
I am currently using a Kershaw 1760 fixed blade.

This CRKT kommer hunter is a nice blade too.

Last edited:

Hedgelj

Supporting Member
Mohicanish
I use the gerber gut hook tool that uses utility/exacto knife blades and a gerber folding saw for the ribs and pelvis. I have 110 folding Hunter with the finer grooves my dad gave me when I first started deer hunting almost 20 years ago and it is what I use for the rest of the job. I do use a benchmade griptillian for skinning because the shape of the blade is better for skinning.

Fluteman

Supporting Member
Southeast Ohio