Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

How do you go about finding private land to hunt?

teej89

NE PA
Now that I'm living in Ohio full time I am looking at getting some land to hunt on other than the public land my dad and I have been hunting for a couple years now. A couple summers ago I did a loop around the public land we hunt and got permission to hunt 2 farms, however they were just crop fields but lining their property was a river separating the hard woods public land from the fields. So I only really used them as access to the back side of the game lands we were hunting which was great cuz other wise it'd be a mile plus hike.

Now I'm living in columbus and I'm going to start doing a search but being brand new to the area I have no idea how to start searching for property. I was thinking about after work just taking a drive an hour or so outside the city and glass fields looking for deer and then using the auditors site to find who owns that property. I used that last time when I had to find out owners address's. I'm not in a rush for finding land for this fall cuz I have a lil 50 acre wooded plot, and potentially 60 more acres of woods above cinci. And we have had some decent luck on public ground too.

Does this sound like a decent start? I know I sound like such a newbie lol but back in PA this was never a concern cuz we had a hunt club we belonged to so I never had to go around knocking on doors. Honestly I'd even be willing to pay for a lease but I've been on basecampleasing.com and there really isn't anything reasonable that's open. Good land at a reasonable price gets swooped up fast there.

Mike

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Up Nort
When I meet somebody new I ALWAYS ask if they have huntable land. My two best properties were gained this way.

RedCloud

Super Moderator
Super Mod
North Central Ohio