Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Opinion/advice

Alphamax10

Kirtland, Ohio
Quick question... Has anyone ever gotten a european mount done to sheds they have found? I am very new to getting into shed hunting and found a matching set of antlers from a 160 plus deer on a property we hunt. His left side was my first ever shed finding and his right side was my dogs first solo find. It has a lot of meaning and also is the biggest rack I have held onto. My question is this, is it worth taking it to a taxidermist? I have never seen one of those euro kits in person and just don't know if the fake skull would look like cheap plastic or the real deal. If anyone knows of a good brand for mount kit I would love to hear what kind it is.

Diane

*Supporting Member*
Newark
A couple of years back, Rick and I hunted a nice buck with a chocolate rack. We never got the buck but Rick was lucky enough to find his sheds.

We bought one of the Mountain Mike's camo colored Euro mounts. I think it looks decent and the camo design helps to hide the plastic.

Here's a small picture of it. I'm not sure if Rick has a larger picture of it or not, but this will give you an idea as to how it turned out.

chocolate-whitetail-sheds-mounted.jpg

I bought it through Gander Mountain, but I think several places sell them.

bowhunter1023

Owner/Operator
Staff member
Appalachia
When I mount something, it is because it has meaning to me. My first mallard, my first turkey, and so on. My next project is my first wood duck ever killed on my own and it is also the first bird my dog ever retrieved. I am mounting a drake and hen together since the hen is the one he swam clear out in the river to get. IMO, those sheds are a must mount.

Ricer2231