Welcome to TheOhioOutdoors
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Login or sign up today!
Login / Join

Coyote calling techniques

Titanfreak9

St. Marys
Hello everyone, just bought a new echo hd coyote caller with 100 pre programmed calls. I was hoping some of the more experienced coyote callers could give me some advice for what works best for you? I'm pretty new to calling coyotes so just wanna get the most information I can before going out jan 12-13. How important is camouflage and scent control? Is there a certain order that works best for when calling, like starting with a mouse in distress for anything that might be close, then pileated woodpecker and moving on to a rabbit in distress? How long do you let each call play for before muting the device and starting a call back up? How long do you generally hunt an area before moving on to the next? I know I'm a rookie at this but thought someone could help answer these questions first hand rather then searching the web for a lot of random information. Thanks for your time.

hickslawns

Dignitary Member
Supporting Member
Ohio
Good luck and welcome to a fun sport. I am far from an expert but have fun. In regards to specific sounds, duration, volume, etc., I think it varies in different geographic locations. Some areas of the country you could use about any call and it might work. Other places seems hit or miss. Locally, we either have coyotes in the area or we don't. We have them, but not as thick as other parts of the state. When we call it seems either they respond quickly or they are not there.